On Brothers.

photo (1)

I am really digging this view. Multiple times every day, Jackson melts me by showing me what a sweet, sweet little soul he is.  He is always coming to love on his baby brother, and demands that I pull out my bare stomach, so that he can “hear him” and “seeee him.” Just as I am typing this, his tiny left hand is resting on my belly, and he told me “baby brother needs a paci” Other funny things he does in regard to baby brother include: trying to look in my belly button to see him, and trying to feed him pretzels through my belly button. Any worries I have about him reacting poorly to baby brother, or being jealous of the attention the baby will need are immediately washed away in these moments. The times where his baby brother is always on his mind, and he is always bringing him up in conversation “my baby brother is wiggly.” or “my baby brother needs a truck like this” and “LOOK! it’s baby brother’s car jammies!!!”

His kind heart and excitement over this baby have me really looking forward to watching the bond between brothers grow.  I don’t have any brothers, and Zac is an only child, so at first I was a little wary of how I am going to even MANAGE two boys (of which, I am pretty sure the definition is ‘noise with dirt on it’), let alone make sure that they love each other and are friends.  More and more, I am finding that last part to be happening before boy #2 even comes earthside, letting me  know that nature has a way of making these things happen on their own.  A couple months ago we went to a wedding of one of Zac’s best friends, where the groom’s younger brother was the best man.  This younger brother, on the outside, is so not a ‘feeler.’ He is alot of fun, and sometimes crazy (he used to ride bulls, i mean….), so when it came time for his toast, I was intrigued and excited to hear some embarrassing stories about their childhood. I was left feeling so touched when the best man couldn’t even get through his toast.  He choked up and was teary, and I think the most words that were exchanged were “I love you” to the groom and “welcome to the family” to the bride.  In that moment, I turned to my husband and said “brothers will be okay with me…if this baby is a boy, i won’t be the slightest bit disappointed.”

Do I think that every day will be rainbows and butterflies and not a cross word will be shared – NO. Of course there will be fights and boogers and bugs and everything else nasty that comes along with raising two boys, and I can’t wait for this dirty, sticky, bug-filled adventure.

 

Leave a comment