Toddler Activity | Sidewalk Paint

Image

I am always on the hunt for activities that will be entertaining for Jackson, but that he can also learn from. When I saw sidewalk paint on pinterest, I knew that it would be the perfect sort of activity for my boy, who by the way, is a whiz with his colors (and shapes too – he knows hexagon and crescent, but his ingenuity is a story for another day).  

Image

The recipe is super easy, and you most likely already have all three ingredients in your kitchen.  It is equal parts water & corn starch mixed together, with drops of liquid food coloring added in.  I found that 1 cup of water + 1 cup of corn starch yielded the perfect amount to fill six  or seven cups of a muffin tin.

I let Jackson help mix the food coloring in, and he was so excited to see the colors take form, and was able to learn that blue + yellow make green, red + yellow make orange, and blue + red make purple 🙂

Image

We took the paint out to the back patio & Jackson immediately went to work creating “rainbows” and the letter J.  This activity kept him occupied for over an hour (eternity in toddler time).  We were able to practice naming colors and work on the alphabet (he only cares about J, of course) for the entire time too.  Here are some photos I snapped of his paintastic adventure: 

Image

Image

Image

Image

When we were all finished, he had, probably, an equal amount of fun spraying his drawings away with the hose, and I am happy to report that there is not even a trace of paint left on the sidewalk!

Image

 

Leave a comment